Lovelane Music Publishing – BMI

Lovelane Music Publishing was founded in 1960 in Detroit, Michigan by Motor City native Sammy Kaplan. Kaplan aspired to capture the essence of Detroit R&B, blues, and funk. His father Morris Kaplan founded Danceland Records in the late 1940’s. Lovelane Music’s initial artist and writer roster included John Lee Hooker, Candy Johnson, Tony Blues Lewis, Tommy J. Jefferson, Rose Nelson, Morris Kaplan, Jerry O, Mitch Ryder, The Sea Shells, The Soulmates, Tom & Jerry O, Roy Cohen, Tom Moers, Barbara Lewis, Jimmy Fallon, Gerald Alston, Joe Farrell, and Richard “Popcorn” Wylie. In addition, the famous Funk Brothers (James Jamison, Bennie Benjamin, Robert White, Eddie Bongo Brown, and Jack Ashford) were apart of the recording process on all Lovelane Music demos and records. From this foundation, emerged the great sound of the Boogaloo. Sammy has also made a recent foray into Hip Hop by signing writers and artists from Victor Newman to Nick Speed and into jazz, as he publishes compositions by John Fumo and Kenny Hirsch. Most importantly, as Sammy will attest to, Lovelane Music Publishing represents a commitment to the sound of Detroit and Los Angeles.

Lovelane Music Group has since specialized in Publishing, Licensing, Advertising, Internet/FM Radio, and Film/Television placement. Since moving to Los Angeles, California, Sammy has been able to have his catalog featured in films such as “Remember The Titans” (Denzel Washington), “The Bachelor” (Chris O’Donnell), “Bones” (Snoop Dogg), “Resurrecting The Champ” (Samuel L. Jackson), and “Yards” (James Caan, Faye Dunaway) “Browns Requiem”, “Thick As Thieves”, “Bitter Sweet”, “Keep The Faith Baby”, “Her Minor Thing”, “Semi-Pro(DVD)”, “Urban Roots”, “The Wayshower”, “Blaze You Out”, “Sous La Niege(Under The Snow)”, “On The Road (Based on the best selling novel by Jack Kerouac)”, “Cesar Chavez” (Michael Pena, John Malkovich), “Get On Up : The James Brown Story”, “Death Race:2050” (Roger Corman), “Moonlight” (Academy Award Winner 2017), and “Don’t Worry He Won’t Get Far On Foot” (Amazon Studios).”Shots Fired” (FOX) featuring the song “Gonna Buy Me A Shotgun” & “Lord Have Mercy” by Tony Blues Lewis, “American Horror Story : Freak Show” featuring “Southside Saturday Night” & “Ebony Jump” by Candy Johnson, “Wayne County Ramblin’ Blues” by John Lee Hooker, and “Lazy Daisy Blues” by The Goldtones.